Kansas City Restaurant Week

Restaurant is one of my favorite weeks of the year. Not only do you have endless excuses to dine out with friends and try new restaurants, but you get to do all of this at a cheaper cost, with 10% of the benefits going to charity. In the last couple of years, I have really gotten into making my reservations ahead so that I can try places that I don’t get to eat at on a regular basis. Here are my choices for this year:

  1. Third Street Social
  2. Eddie V’s
  3. Lidia’s
  4. Le Fou Frog
  5. Michael Smith

Third Street Social – Lee’s Summit

This is a new restaurant in Lee’s Summit. I had heard great things about it so was excited that they were participating in restaurant week this year. We ate here on the very first day of restaurant week and the food was delicious. I ordered a pretty heavy meal and was only able to finish half of it, but the good thing about that was that I got to have it for lunch the next day as well!

First Course: New England Clam Chowder

Second Course: Chicken Fried Steak – Beef Tenderloin, Chorizo Verde Gravy, Peas, Onions (pictured)

Third Course: Oatmeal Cream Pie – Chewy Oatmeal Cookie, Buttercream

Eddie V’s – Country Club Plaza

I had almost forgotten how good this was until I just wrote it down below. Eddie V’s is a great steakhouse that has classic and delicious food.

First Course: Crispy Salt and Pepper Shrimp – Battered and Wok-Seared with a Spicy Sweet Soy Ginger Sauce and Vegetables

Second Course: 8 oz Center Cut Filet Mignon – Specially Aged, Midwestern Grain Fed Beef Add: Cognac Sauce & Scalloped Potatoes

Third Course: Banana’s Foster Butter Cake – Butter Pecan Ice Cream AND Wild Berry Sorbet – Served with Freshly Baked Homemade Cookies

Lidia’s – Freight House

Lidia’s for lunch during Restaurant Week is a must every year. They offer a three course lunch for $15. We had a nice Monday lunch at the newly rebuilt bar with half-glass wine pairings!

First Course: Red Wine Arancini

Second Course: Lidia’s Signature Pasta Trio – Short Rib Ravioli, Rigatoni with Tomato and Ricotta, Pappardelle with Shrimp

Third Course: Chocolate Almond Torta with Amaretti Crunch and Maple Cream

Le Fou Frog – River Market

This was a middle of the week dinner and it was excellent. Each time our waitress described one of the menu items, I immediately wanted it – She just happened to describe the Bourguignon last. What a great meal!

First Course: Pork Belly Over Garlicky White Beans

Second Course: Boeuf Bourguignon – Beef Stew in Red Wine served over Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Third Course: Profiterole Au Tatin

Michael Smith – Crossroads

This trip was a repeat from last year when we had a Restaurant Week dinner. I need to eat here more – The food and service was great. I wanted to try the Ciopinno because I knew this was not something I would normally make for myself. It was a light and delicious broth with great seafood. This will probably be a 3 year in a row trip.

First Course: House Made Potato Gnocchi – Wild mushrooms and parmesan

Second Course: Ciopinno – Mussels, shrimp, bay scallops, hearty tomato broth

Third Course: Chocolate Pudding Tart – Meringue

